Work Experience at The Manchester Museum – ‘Loving the WOW factor!’

November 2009 Update – If you are looking for Work Experience opportunities at The Manchester Museum, please see this section of our website.

Below is a post from Victoria Williams, a PGCE student we recently had on a two week work placement, reflecting on her experiences.  The Manchester Museum can only offer a few of these type of placements and demand far outstrips the number of opportunities.

Image, Maharajah the elephant in his new location on The Manchester Gallery

Image, Maharajah the elephant in his new location on The Manchester Gallery

‘I am currently training to be a primary school teacher on a one year PGCE course. As part of our course we are required to complete two weeks work experience in an alternative educational setting and this is what brought me to this wonderful museum! My aim in working here was to improve my knowledge of museum education, as well as my knowledge of Egyptians, Greeks, dinosaurs, animals and everything else that the museum offers.

During my two week placement I worked with pupils of all ages, from reception to year nine, and also with adults who have English as a second language. I have observed a great variety of activities provided by the education department; sessions have included handling artefacts, sketching, drama, storytelling, making things, debating and investigating.

The thing that has struck me the most during this placement is the ‘wow’ factor that visitors to the museum experience. I will never forget the eyes of a 3 year old girl seeing her first hedgehog or the gasps of surprise when a group of year fours got up close to a very special lizard! I feel that my aims have been more than fulfilled here and my passion for teaching and learning has rocketed!’

One thought on “Work Experience at The Manchester Museum – ‘Loving the WOW factor!’

  1. A big thank you to Victoria for her help, enthusiasm and interest as well. It was great having her along as part of the all-day Greeks session.

Leave a Reply

