A little ray of sunshine

However much you love your work, there are times when you need a boost and I received one last week from one of our younger visitors. It made my day so I decided to share it with you.

Dear Manchester Museum, I am 9 years old. I have visited the museum many times and I have found it interesting and I’ve learned lots from it. This is a poem I wrote which was inspired by the Egyptian exhibition.

Sleeping Still

Entering the dark, dim lit hall,

Running to the precious bodies in the clear, glass cases.

Looking at them, brown like shrivelled apples.

Walking, talking people is what they used to be.

Strolling on Egyptian sands, thinking, when they died they would live on.

Here they are.

It is raining and they are lying still in Manchester Museum.

By Matilda

Thank you for making your museum wonderful.

From Matilda Houston-Brown

One thought on “A little ray of sunshine

Leave a Reply

